European Union: from January 1, this country will be part of the Schengen area and the euro zone

In 2023, the Schengen area will have a 27th state. Ten years after joining the European Union, a country now joins the euro zone.

Croatia joins the ranks of the Schengen area. Already a member of the European Union since 2013, this country of 3.8 million inhabitants joins the euro zone on Sunday January 1, 2023, indicates The gallery.

He therefore swaps the kuna for the single currency. Supported in particular by France in its approach, Croatia had obtained the approval of the European Union in 2016.

Strengthening the economy and tourism

Zagreb thus hopes to better protect its economy, while the country is suffering from inflation above the euro zone average.

A tourist country, Croatia could also benefit from the facilities granted to members of the Schengen area to attract even more visitors in the years to come.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *